malurette: (whut)
[personal profile] malurette
Titre : Idriss petit apprenti
Auteur : Robert Gaillot
Langue : français
Type : roman jeunesse
Genre : drama/social

1ère parution : 2005
Édition : Magnard
Format : poche illustré n&b, 60 pages



(est-ce que j'ai pioché ça dans la bibliothèque partagée de la salle d'escalade, ou acheté à la foire aux livres l'an passé ?)

Idriss, 9 ans, vit dans une banlieue grise seul avec sa mère - son père a dû repartir au bled. Le hasard le met entre les mains du "Brigadier", un vieux bonhomme local, artisan peintre en lettres - c'est à dire qu'il fait à la main des affiches des enseignes des banderoles. Idriss n'a pas l'âge légal mais commence quand même un apprentissage parce que si c'est ça ou le deal...

Oui. Bon. Mais les dessins sont très moches, et excusez-moi le dernier paragraphe est atroce ?
comment ça le gentil capitaine de police attend que la petite sœur soit assez grande pour la demander en mariage ils ont au moins 25 ans de différence !!!
si y'avait moyen d'arracher un bout de texte avant de le larguer dans une boîte à livres...
...ah fuck mais celle de la salle d'escalade semble ne plus exister il me faut un plan B


j'ai pas le voabulaire spécifique en anglais pour faire le résumé résumé ce matin

[manga] Les pommes miracle

Mar. 25th, 2026 05:45 pm
malurette: (rapunzel)
[personal profile] malurette
Titre : Kiseki no ringo
Auteurs : Fujikawa Tsutomu d'après Ishikawa Takuji
Langue : traduction du japonais
Type : manga (one-shot)
Genre : biographie/écologie

1ère parution : 2013
Édition : Akata pour la traduction
Format : 1 tankoubon



(trouvé par hasard dans une librairie d'occasion le mois dernier)

L'histoire de Kimura Akinori, fils de paysans, qui a toujours aimé démonter les choses pour comprendre comment elles fonctionnent. Un peu par hasard, en partie parce que son épouse supporte mal l'épendage des pesticides - sans blague ça rend malade les trucs toxiques !! - il se met au défi de cultiver des pommes sans produit phytosanitaire de synthèse.
Ça va prendre des années et des tas d'expériences longtemps infructueuses... et engloutissant les économies de la famille, mais on n'aurait pas fait ce livre s'il n'y était pas arrivé à la fin !

Bah c'est instructif et porteur d'espoir ! et ça on en a bien besoin.

Guy who decided--and manage--to grow organic apples when modern apple trees are fickle fragile things.

[series] Centaurworld

Mar. 22nd, 2026 05:51 pm
malurette: (unicorn)
[personal profile] malurette
Title: Centaurworld
By: Megan Nicole Dong
Language: English (+ closed captions)
Type: animation (2D)
Genre: weird fantasy
Length: 2 seasons, 10+8 episodes x25 minutes
(except the last one that one hour long)
Release date: 2021

Where: on Netflix (probably i streamed the 1st season on my laptop; 2nd i downloaded on my phone)

Read more... )

...that was weird. After just season 1 I would have said aweird, even a bad kind of weird; after season 2 however? yeah that's a good kind of weird, actually.

(no subject)

Mar. 20th, 2026 08:52 pm
ursamajor: the Swedish Chef, juggling (bork bork bork!)
[personal profile] ursamajor
I spent half an hour of my one wild and precious life filling out the Serious Eats Starch Madness bracket, because the world is going to hell so why not. (I will take the tiny light that California will be renaming Cesar Chavez Day to Farmworkers Day, and still observing it as a state holiday. Better to honor farmworkers as a class rather than continue the grand American tradition of hero-worshipping fallible individuals and then being shocked that "good people" can do "bad things" because we refuse to understand nuance, let alone act intelligently upon it. But goddammit that's one hell of a missing stair.)

in which I get highly opinionated about baked goods, join me! 😁 )

Okay, I guess I should go figure out dinner that doesn't involve a stove because it got to 90F today, like 25-30F above normal. Rude. And yes, I started with ice cream. But I may need something a little more substantial.
armaina: (taithal bleh)
[personal profile] armaina
There is a very frustrating thing that occurs when I say that I don't play or like PVP games and that's for someone to follow up with stating their particular game of choice 'isn't that bad' rather than just letting me be, it gets exhausting.

The only time I have ever played and enjoyed PVP is in closed circuit games where it's a lobby of just yourself and your friends and you're just goofing off with no real stakes or losses. Like old deathmatch arenas and fighting games with friends. There's no ranks, no stakes, and no progress to loose. Or the occassional 'party game'. And even then, I can only put maybe an hour or two into it and then I'm disinterested.

I am not 'great' at video games, I have to fail an awful lot to be any decent at it and even then I'm only mediocre. I'm fine with this. Failure on its own doesn't bother me. What bothers me is loss of progress and my teammates being upset with me because I fumbled. This only amplifies when PVP is involved. When it's free for all pvp, then it's frustrating because I'll just get no where because most people are better than me and I'll make no progress and have to sit through more and more matches just to meet bare minimum requirements to progress. Or if it's not match based but still solo PVP, the whole act of playing it feels on a razer wire because I could loose progress at any time and then what even is the point? And if it's team matches, then I have the anxiety of failing people in the team.

In parties of 4 it gets very easy to see who the weak link is, and because of the nature of PVP, people are very unkind to failure. People will claim that they're okay with it, but I hear it, I hear them trash talk their teammates when they're not up to snuff. Never giving space for people to learn or just be bad at something for a while until they get better at it. And they think that this doesn't effect the other people around them. I know what you all think of people that play poorly, and I play poorly, why do you all think that kind of talk would have no impact on me? So every time I loose in a team I think of how they would think of me, how they're angry at my failure, how they wish I weren't playing so they wouldn't be 'stuck' with someone so bad at the game. I am okay with failure, (unless I loose progress but that's it's own vector) but some people really, really are not. And in PVP, the need for success amplifies even more so than in co-op games because people's ranks are on the line. Take all that anxiety I already get with high stakes team play and then add the element that you're now also playing with other people, and that all gets amplified.

The only PVP I've been able to tollerate is ones with a strong PVE element which has only been possible in Gambit in Destiny 2, and World vs World in Guild Wars 2. Because in these I can largely focus on the PVE part and not the PVP part. Gambit's PVE is really important, so being good at that helps the overall match and I don't feel like a complete failure. Guild Wars 2's World vs World is a little less PVE intensive but the PVP part is handled by being in large swarms, so my personal failures don't stand out and I don't have people in chat yelling at me. More importantly, both games do not result in me loosing progress if I die. I can die dozens of times without penalty. That being said, if I could play those games without touching the game modes at all, I absolutely would. I only played those modes for certain progress requirements, not because I enjoyed them.

And then there's the matter that I just don't enjoy it. Sure I could triple up on anxiety meds and maybe not feel like my chest is caving in when I play a PVP game, but it's also just not enjoyable. Why waste my time on the potential that I might feel a high with certain big stakes when I could, instead, play a game I actually enjoy playing without the crushing weight of anxiety. So not only is it anxiety inducing, it's also just not my idea of fun.

So all that said, it gets really exhausting, when I say I don't play PVP and someone still tries to sell me on their PVP game. 'Oh it's not that bad', 'Oh I don't usually like pvp but'

I DON'T LIKE PVP!!
FULL STOP!!!
IT IS NOT FUN FOR ME!!!
STOP TRYING TO SELL ME ON YOUR PVP GAME!!!

Stop trying to apply your perception of mild aversion being the same as my intense level of discomfort and anxiety I have around the game type. What might be 'not that bad' for you, is still pretty dang bad for me and I'm tired of it being brushed aside like my discomfort and ability to enjoy it a all isn't even a factor worth incorporating.

(no subject)

Mar. 19th, 2026 10:49 am
hera: chel holdin' apple (Default)
[personal profile] hera
I am a simple soul! Sometimes I just mentally catalogue reasons that I fucking adore people, and one of the biggest examples that always pops up is just a brief conversation I had once. I said: "oh, I think you're absolutely my favorite person in the entire fucking world, which is an absurd and silly statement, but -"

"Oh, that's bullshit, your sister is your favorite person in the world and we both know it."

It's such a silly thing to remember, but it's just one of those little things that's insanely endearing. I love my sister more than anything else in existence! She's frustrating and infuriating and legitimately the best person I know, even at her absolute worst. But I do place other people up on her metaphorical pedestal with her. So establishing that and then having it immediately nudged - "you love me a lot, but don't forget that your sister sits equal or higher" - is just very sweet.

I've had people get jealous over how ride-or-die with my sister that I am, which was absolutely frothingly insane to even notice. Having it acknowledged  without being weird about it is just very charming, especially when everyone's aware that it isn't a competition, haha.

In other news: flaring flaring flaring, when am I not right now? But my liver can calm the fuck down anytime now. 

four rides make a post

Mar. 17th, 2026 11:29 pm
ursamajor: people on the beach watching the ocean (Default)
[personal profile] ursamajor
One of these days, I will get around to making myself a bike icon or three. I've only been biking for transportation as an adult for 18 years now!

recent bike rides: coffee ride, bike party, Kidical Mass, and biking to the library to get a Star Trek-themed library card )

Still, I did take this most recent Sunday off from running because of the higher-than-normal activity, and squeezed a quick jog in this morning before the heatwave really set in. It should not be this close to 90F in the Bay Area in March, but at least I still have otter pops in the freezer. Worth noting: I'm finally at a point in my fitness where I can consistently jog 20 minutes in a row. I'm still slow af, but one of my fitness goals this year is to be able to jog a 5k without a significant walk break. I've done races in the past with run-walk intervals, I just want to broaden my toolset. And the cardio is good for breath control, key to singing, so I'm trying to encourage this virtuous feedback loop :)

Despite the heat, I had already defrosted the corned beef for boiled dinner for St. Patrick's Day dinner tonight, and it's one of [personal profile] hyounpark's faves from our Boston era, so tradition upheld. I also baked soda bread, or at least a slightly nontrad version that called for yogurt instead of the buttermilk we never have on hand. And of course I modded that; we do raisins or currants in ours, not nuts, and for once, I even had caraway seeds on hand thanks to a recent Buy Nothing spice exchange), and that came out so well we've already finished half the loaf. So I got that all on the stove as early as possible to not overheat the house.

In between all the biking and baking, we managed to sneak in brunch on the patio at Oceanview Diner with CJ and Chung and their kids. I ordered the souffle pancake, knowing it was going to show up as dessert, and it was worth the wait (and the looks on everyone's faces 😁 ). Their souffle pancake is really more of a Dutch baby, which their predecessor called a Dutch bunny when I would order it as a kid decades ago, fluffy and just a bit eggy and perfect.

It's too hot to sleep; I think I'll have another otter pop.

yet more of these drabbles

Mar. 18th, 2026 09:55 am
deird1: Faith, with text " 'sup, bitches?" (Faith bitches)
[personal profile] deird1
This is for my urban fantasy setting, previously seen here and here.

Slowly but surely, I seem to be doing a thing…

drabbles! )
malurette: (ducky)
[personal profile] malurette
Title: All about Sam
Author: Lois Lowry
Language: English
Type: kid novel
Genre: slice of life?

1st release: 1988 for the original 1999 for the translation
Publisher: L'école des loisirs in french
Length: medium paperback, 180 pages



I read a French adaptation; it's not localised but I do wonder about accidental puns in young Sam
misunderstanding things he's hearing for the first time. Some are obvious yet well translated, but one has me wishing to check out the original?


Limited third person POV from a young but precocious toddler, alternating between breaking my suspension of disbelief and being honestly endearing.

"Toute la vérité sur Sam" pour la VF, c'est mignon mais très honnêtement si je n'avais pas lu d'abord la série d'Anastasia Krupnik ça ne m'aurait pas intéressé.
Page generated Mar. 28th, 2026 05:11 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios